CARLA’S SONG november 2021

Ken Loach

1997 UK

A chance conversation with one of my students from Nicaragua revealed her intimate knowledge of a film that I saw during my final years in Italy at the end of the last century. The film was highly acclaimed in the then left-wing bastion of Volterra, my home town for two decades. Carla’s Song by Ken Loach is an ambitious account, in the guise of a love story, of the armed struggle to defend the Sandanista revolution in Nicaragua. The opening scenes of the unlikely encounter and ensuing love affair between a Glaswegian bus-driver and Nicaraguan refugee are particularly memorable, and perhaps a source of inspiration for Jonathan Glazer’s remarkable film Under the Skin. Both films begin with haunting street sciences of Glasgow. 

Mark

Language level:

While the action takes place in Scotland, the strong Gaswegian makes for difficult comprehension. Fortunately, the film can be read visually until the action shifts to Central America. Accents are less of an issue from then onwards.

Key words and expressions:

The full screenplay is available to facilitate comprehension.

This place is a dump

Bridesmaid

I tried to kid myself on

How’s the lassie?

I’ve got to dash


About this entry